Giving the player a weapon

Hello All;

I am wondering if there is a way to give a player weapons armor and other items and add it to the visual of the character with out changing models or creating new animations. I am a programmer on a project and not the modeler, I don’t know thing one about blender or xml or any of that, I read and write code. I understand the fundamentals of game programming but java isn’t my native language c++ is. My project lead wants me to attach weapons and armor to the player threw code so we don’t have to make a whole new player model for each weapon and armor set and all variations in between. Most engines I have worked with UDK, Octane, even Game Maker have the ability to add items threw code and not threw new model animations. My question is how would I do this in JME3 (with all the latest updates).

What I have tried:

I have tried adding the weapon as a child to the hand bone

bone.attachchild(weapon) // I know this isn’t really how it would look just giving an example.

I have tried adding the weapon to the hand of the player in the scene explorer I linked the weapon to the player in the window and moved it next to the hand but not quite touching it.

What I am looking for in an answer:

The answer I am hoping for is a code sample or pseudo-code showing me what to do.

I am new to JME and I have gone threw all the tutorials even though they don’t really work anymore. This project is on a deadline and we really can’t afford to redo the character model for every combination as the game will allow hundreds of custom combinations built in the game. The game will be like runescape and mine craft in the crafting system I am sure I will be back later to ask for help with that as well when the time comes.

The way I have been doing it in my game is by getting the attachment node from the model’s skeleton control. This works well for weapons models.

2 Likes
@damionmccoy said: