Good and Scalable Game Structure

So, I’m new to JMonkey. I’ve been reading the tutorials for JME3, Ind I’m really amazed with it’s simplicity. However, I just couldn’t find good abstract tutorials for creating a game using AppStates and Controlers. In fact, I think they are a litle bit bad documented in the wiki, but I understand that taking into account that the project is still in beta and this is made by volunteers. :slight_smile:

However, that doesn’t help me, so I thought I’d ask the experts what would be the best method. I will try to explain my goals:

The game will be some kind of FPS, however, it won’t be like a classical FPS where you just shoot and run. It will some kind of GTA SA, where you can walk where you want, and as it’s going to be a cops game, you will be able to shoot and have a weapon. All, with a First Person view.

So, what I’m thinking is to create an AppState for the world, world loading and so on, and controls for the character control. This because there will be multiple states that I can switch between during gameplay, and that will assign different tasks to the same key, like normal walking, weapons mode, and possibily, in the future, physical fighting mode. It will be able to control vehicles too, which will need a new control. So, as you see, I need an architecture that allows me to create an easily extensible application.

So, how would you create an aplication (a simple draft with the main classes and their main functions would be great). :slight_smile:

I know this isn’t simple, but I’m prepared for a lot of work. :slight_smile:

Any help is apreciated, thanks.

Scorch