Gta clone with jME

I was searching for a long time for an engine on which I can create a game like GTA. The game is not for a comerzial purpose, so there is no need to use the latest graphic, physic and other stuf. The game should work realy simple the graphics and physics like would be satisfiable. The main aim is a posibility to load huge map with diferent vehicles and weapons. It schould be posible to walk and drive vehicles on the map and use weapons. No idea how dificult it´ll be to do something like that on jME. Is there may be some existing solutions for such a game?

Well i am a beginner in JME but what i learned from JME its that you can create any type of games, of course in 3D, you can create a GTA game in JME but the dificulty its all about you and your learning skills, i dont know about 2D games with sprites if it possible.

Should be possible,

however keep in mind that in a game like gta most work is actually creating the world, and not programming the logic :slight_smile:

Creating the world is not the problem, the map and all other models already exist, they have just to be converted to a format suitable for jME. For me the logic is a biger problem. However loading a map and then walk or even drive there would be a great succes for me.
When I was talking about GTA, I meand a 3D game like GTA San Andreas and not 2D game like the 2 first GTA games.

Theres more to it than models. Theres loads of metadata in the GTA map. Things like “this is a door” or “this is a road” and stuff like that.

@gtafan said: Creating the world is not the problem, the map and all other models already exist, they have just to be converted to a format suitable for jME. For me the logic is a biger problem. However loading a map and then walk or even drive there would be a great succes for me. When I was talking about GTA, I meand a 3D game like GTA San Andreas and not 2D game like the 2 first GTA games.