Hard Boild : A Strategic RPG

An introduction…

My name is Jesse Whitworth, I’m a college student attending Southern Utah University in Cedar City, Utah. As a term project I’ve given myself the task of creating a 3d strategy game. I have a little over a month to finish a working prototype that I can present in class. The presentation will center on the use of a scenegraph data structure to logically and spatially store data. For that reason I have chosen the jMonkey Engine to build my prototype on.

More info and a screenshot at my development blog: Hard Boild Blog

Code and issue reporting at Google Code Hard Boild Code

Good luck with your project! Keep posting to this thread when you update your blog.

The menu system is in, though I only have the main menu functional right now. The world map is up and running, models are in and outlined and animating perfectly. My asset managing class is becoming a catchall for model, animation and texture handling, which I guess is what I built it for, but it's getting cluttered, I should organize and comment it. Next up, the game character class, which will handle class, skills, stats, etc. And also the battle map, which should be easy since map loading is already functioning under the asset manager. Screens!

Well, "screen" at least. That's the world map there, and inset is a fade between the main character model and it's wireframe. Only the hexes around your immediate position highlight, when they do the name of the area us displayed on the bottom left. Well, that's it for now, I'm at about the halfway mark, wish me luck!

Good Luck!

This project is very interesting, and really shows promise. Let me know if you wanna get together for some design tinkering :slight_smile:

Are you taking care of everything yourself, or are you getting some assistance when it comes to stuff like models and UI elements?