HariboTer’s question

Hello everyone,

I’m pretty new to the jMonkeyEngine (and 3D-programming in general), thus having a lot of questions which I thought would be better to ask in a single thread instead of spamming a new thread for each. About me, I have ~1 year programming experience with Java (which is my first, main (and only) programming language). In that time I have been snooping around in the Internet and the Minecraft code and finished a Minecraft Tetris ( http://minecraftjp.mi.funpic.de/craftris/ ) some weeks ago. Now I want to step on into 3d-games and I am willing to learn! :wink:

So here are my (probably pretty nooby beginner) questions (I’m sorry in case that they have already been asked and solved elsewhere (and ask for the link in that case :wink: ) :

1. Before trying out SeaMonkey, I tried to simulate an ocean by placing lots of SimpleWater-Quads next to each other. Actually it would have looked pretty fine from “overwater” if the single quads weren’t processed each on its own, giving the ocean an overall asynchronous look. For oceans this is no problem (since SeaMonkey is of great use), but if I e.g. wanted to give a winded river water with the SimpleWater-option by accordingly placing named quads, what would I have to do to get rid of the asynchronous look?
  2. Is there a (more or less) convenient way to simulate underwater-graphics, or would one have to simulate them by themselves?
  3. Is there a possibility to set the “look” of the mouse cursor?
  4. The terrain editor is a very useful tool, but it’s often inconvenient to have to move the mouse cursor each time you want to create a little change on the terrain, which is becoming really painful if you want to make a mountain or generally change large parts of the terrain. Is there an option to change that so you only have to keep the mouse button pressed, but not to move the mouse cursor anymore?