Heightmap from array problem

Here is my new problem, with terrain: I have tried to follow the tutorial (https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme2:terrains_heightmaps_texturing) on generating heightmaps from an array, and I’m getting an error on the TerrainBlock saying “cannot find symbol” I have tried setting up the array, and variables exactly as I saw in the ‘heightmap from array’ portion of the tutorial. I am wondering what is missing, do I need to setup some sort of private variable, or do I need to import somthing.

jme2?

You should move up to jme3, we don’t really support jme2 any more.

I’m using jME3, but couldn’t find a tutorial for it, in jME3.

jme3 has a completely different terrain system than jme2 and is not backwards compatible.

To create a heightmap from raw float data just pass in the float array into the TerrainQuad constructor.

Umm, I’m kinda new to jME3, could you post a code example (when you get the time, I realize that you’re a developer, so you’re probably busy), you don’t have to post the array in the code, just where I would plug it in.

Look at TerrainTest line 160:

[java]

terrain = new TerrainQuad(“terrain”, 65, 513, heightmap.getHeightMap());

[/java]

The “heightmap.getHeightMap()” returns a float[].

If you already have a float array of height values, pass that in instead.

Heightmaps, such as ImageHeightMap, are just a way to convert an image or something else into raw height values: a float array.

[java]

float[] hieghts = new float[]{0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0, etc…};

TerrainQuad terrain = new TerrainQuad(“terrain”, 65, 513, heights);

[/java]

1 Like

Ohh, I get it know, thanks! I must admit that I’m really impressed with you and the team of Developers, not only have you managed to make my favorite IDE, the only game engine, I’ll ever use, but you also have really fast response time to problems on the forums.

Our pleasure :slight_smile: