Heightmap question

Hi!

I need to build realistic terrain, a 3d model of a certain area. Well, my problem is: the input data contains float values, but the a heightmap in jme is an array of ints…

Is there any way to use floating point numbers instead of ints? Or is there some other method that allows me to generate terrain without sacrificing precision?  If it's not possible, are there any plans to implement such functionality anytime soon?

P.S.: If the question is dumb, sorry. I'm new to 3d programming! -:slight_smile:

Thanks in advance!

Tom

It really depends on many factors:  For instance, if you floating point values are always between 0 and 1, then rescaling them to be integers would not yield significant loss of precision (since floats and ints are 32 bit).

On the other hand, if you just need a 3D mesh with the map, and no collision detection, (or even texture), you could code it yourself with not too much trouble (this way it will all be floats, and the scale you decide).

Finally, there is always the indirect way to do it. You can model it in 3DS or Blender, and then, when it looks like you want, you just export it to jME.

duenez said:

Finally, there is always the indirect way to do it. You can model it in 3DS or Blender, and then, when it looks like you want, you just export it to jME.

thats the way i would go ha :D 3ds ftw

Thanks for the answers guys!

Well, the range of the input values is 0-10000, and they have a 6 digit precision… -:frowning: Of course I don't need to use such precise values, something like 1.23 or 2456.54 would be enough for me.

As for 3ds max, thanks for the tip, but it's not an option in this case. There are many models to create (more than a hundred maybe), so it must be automated somehow. Texturing is not important, but the terrain needs to be as realistic as possible.