Help with multipass shader

Hi everyone,

I’m still learning shaders and I’m not familiar with all the ins and outs. I am trying to implement the technique in this paper:

http://developer.download.nvidia.com/presentations/2010/gdc/Direct3D_Effects.pdf

For this technique, it seems I need to have multiple passes to render the water correctly. A depth pass, then a blur pass, then a normal pass, and so on.

I looked at the some of the water processor stuff because I know that has to use multiple textures, but those look as though they operate on the entire scene.

I am hoping to just assign a particle emitter a custom Material, and have that material do all the passes.

How might I approach this with JME? Is there a way to pass the output from a fragment shader as the input to the next shader, chaining them all together? ie: for depth pass, calculate all the depths and pass those into the blur shader

Sorry for my ignorance on the topic

A complex effect like this isn’t possible just by using the material system. You may need to use several framebuffers and chain the materials in a similar way that FilterPostProcessor does it, except you do it per object and not for an entire scene.

Thanks for the pointers about the filter post processor stuff.

I decided to use the existing system and it’s working out just fine. I used a MRT shader to output the particle data to two different textures. One texture was the regular scene (the rendering of rootnode) and output the particles with a single solid colour. The other texture represented the custom depth buffer necessary.