Hi’ new to jme. seeking programmers for survival horror project

hello everyone, my name anthony. i am a hobbyist 3d designer, not a programmer. and I am completely new to jmonkey. installed and played around with the jm3 build and i was pretty LOST! from what I’ve seen of this engine, it looks nice. i was working with unity3d engine for a while and it was pretty straight forward and artist friendly but I’ve moved on to the android platform for new opportunities.

Do I need programming skills to generate terrain in jme3? are there any good video tutorials on how to use the jme terrain tools? I have a game project I’d like to bring to android. i am a artist so i mainly do the concept art and 3d modeling/texture/animation in blender 3d. As an 3d artist i am interested in collaborating with some java/jme3 programmers on a unique survival horror rpg project.

Has anyone gotten jme3 to run on a android device like droid x other devices?

I hope to post some concept art soon.

thanks

anthony

Try keep up with the newest activity on the Android board. It’s still in the testing phase though, so it does require some coding knowledge to set up.

As for terrain, at this point some programming skills would greatly help you mold your terrain to your exact liking, yeah. In other words, you would be much better off molding a prototype in Blender to communicate your ideas through. Now, as long as you’re good at making optimized assets, I don’t see why Blender couldn’t just be used as the level editor from the start. If I turn out to be wrong, your best bet I’d say is between Fracplanet used by this spaceship demo, or wait around for this low-memory terrain to be merged into TerraMonkey.

erlend, thanks. nice little community here. due to my lack of programming skill set. i may have to stick to uinity as my preferred game engine. I would love to do a web browser game that can be played on pc/mac and apple/android tablets. that way anyone could play my game.