How about introducing read only interface for vectors, quaternions?

Currently, I’m studying Ardor3d and jME3 and both are very impressive.

Especially, jME3 gets stronger day by day. Wow!

But jME3 lack of read-only inferface for basic data structures such as Vector3f, Quaternion

it is good practice to eliminate mistakes.(It is same as ReadOnly- interface in Ardor3D)

How do you think about this?

I think we rather count on assertion checks than limiting the engine too much. In fact, in jME3 its not as easily possible as in jme2 or ardor to falsely swap location vector objects etc.

Cheers,

Normen

I’m glad to hear it is difficult to accidently modify vector objects.

I wonder how but maybe I have to investigate more.

Thank you for the answer. :slight_smile:

As far as I understand, jme3 also has the same vulnerablilty as jme2.

We can get translation, rotation instance reference by getLocalTranslation(), getLocalRotation(), etc.

And even Vector3f.UNIT_X elements can be changed.

This cannot be checked by assertion or any other ways.

I don’t think introducing read-only interface limits engine’s capability.

It rather strengthen the stability of the engine.

Actually, I know it needs changes for a lot of code, and it is not appropriate for current release of engine.

I just hope that it will be done some other day.

getLocalTranslation().set() wont move the spatial, so the user will probably notice pretty fast that it wont work and do it correctly. I still regard this a rather drastic control mechanism.

If I understand rightly, getLocalTranslation().set() will be reflected after the call of setTransformRefresh().

Then it is very difficult to find the bug, because it is asynchronous.

Maybe it is meaningless change, I think it is very good practice.

According to the code getting larger, it’s difficult to track this kind of trivial mistake.

it may be based on just the naive programmer’s mistake.