How can I gain focus on JME Application window?

I am new to JMonkey and I’m looking to gain focus on the JMonkey window that I have that hosts various jme content. Typically, I can do this by calling something like frame.toFront() then frame. repaint().

How would I gain control of the actual hosting frame for a JMonkey application, and thus, bring it to the front or gain focus on this window once it is lost? I’ve searched through the API with little results for anything close. There is a “GainFocus” method that can be called, but it does not appear to do anything and is marked in the docs as “internal use only.”

Thoughts?

Its not a swing window, use awt panels or the canvas implementation if you want more control over the window.

Is this possible using the nifty display components? Either NiftyJMEDisplay or NiftyDisplayProvider? Rewriting the app for awt panels or canvas isn’t an option at this time.

rewriting? you just need to use it instead of the normal window… oO anyway with nifty you can also have multiple windows or panels yeah. I don’t know what you want to do so i cannot say exactly.

Currently this app doesn’t use a canvas, frame, or window. If it did, I would just access that. The primary display type is NiftyJmeDisplay.

All I want to do is gain control of the jmonkey app window so I can re-focus this if focus is lost without having to have the user click back on the app window.

@jmenewb said:
All I want to do is gain control of the jmonkey app window so I can re-focus this if focus is lost without having to have the user click back on the app window.

So what you're saying is that if I run your game or app windowed and want to chat with a friend of mine on steam or I want to check a website at the same time, you won't allow that? Really?