How do I Start Developing A Game (No, not a newbie)

I’m sure that whoever is viewing this post first saw and went, HA nooob! No, I’m not new to game design I have been doing so for a few years now. Anyways, I have never really made a quote-on-quote big project in jME, and I was wondering where do I start? This will be a game with a story/cutscene in the beginning and then you go on to other things. Ever played Shaun White Snowboarding? It starts out with a story and then you can go on and just go to whatever you like, snowboarding down 1/4 or 3 mountain you can choose from. I want to do something like that and I didn’t know how to start? How do I start with a cutscene and then things happen after you have done X? Or have something happen after you reach point X?
Thanks so much,
-cMp

File-> New Project

good luck :slight_smile:

Im really going to hope that youre joking and that the rest of the community is little more helpful :wink:

I’m trying to reconcile “not new to game design” with “how do I design a game?”… and it’s tough. There is no shame in being a noob. Everyone was at some point.

The answers may seem flippant but the question is too big to give a meaningful answer without writing pages.

All I can suggest is break it down into chunks. If those chunks are too big pick one and break that down again. Eventually you find something small enough that you know how to design/write that.

Once you have that chunk do another one that plugins into it, and continue.

So in the example above pick something (for example the mountain chooser) and write that.

Then create a snowboarder.

Then a mountainside.

Then get the snowboarder running down the mountain.

Etc.

Divide and conquor is the only way to handle a large project.

Zarch, thanks for the answer I’ll look into doing that! And pspeed I agree I am a noob however at jme not game design. Hey, we’re all noobs at something after all, right? :slight_smile: