How do I start this game?

Hello again guys how do I start a fps zombie survival game
any help will do. Thanks guys
I only have 2 weeks left before submitting it
my group mates are already creating a model
I’m new in jme3 and also im the core programmer in our group

Well, your two month project is at least more realistic than your 18 month project… but neither will fit into two weeks unless you take a lot of shortcuts.

Shortcut number one will be downloading Unity and dragging-and-dropping 80% of your game. You just might get something done in your two week deadline… but it’s still ambitious.

One thing new developers get wrong is estimating how long things will take. Then they think “Ok, I will come up with something simpler…” But it’s never simple enough.

In order to write a zombie survival game in two weeks in JME, prerequisites:
-art assets already created/imported and ready to go with animations. (That can take two weeks on its own.)
-someone on the team who could write a simple JME-based Asteroids clone in 2 hours.

…if you don’t have that guy, then it can’t be done in two weeks. You will spend more than that amount of time just trying to figure out the difference between your hand and your foot, metaphorically speaking.

we’re only given to use java as the programming language.
Can i ask something?
Is there any other easy to develop game with the genre of survival?
Cause I pass a paper to our professor that we are going to develop a survival game for our finals project

Well, why don’t you make a simple random boxes being thrown from the screen sides and you need to dodge them by only jumping and going to left & right. It is survival. If zombies are your thing, make the boxes simple zombies with varying scales. Boom, that is zombie survival done in 2 weeks.

4 Likes

So there’s no more guns.
Our game will be only Dodge the zombies
My friend is already creating a scene in the google sketchup
thanks for the advice

2 Likes