How does jME3 achieve real-time rendering?

I’m new to both jME3 and Blender, and just learned about how to bake materials into textures inside Blender.

I’m wondering if jME3 supports and encourages baked materials, or if the engine requires/prefers to render its own materials from simple texture files.

There’s also something I can’t shake: in Blender, a single render (even using the more advanced Cycles renderer) can take up to 45 seconds on my machine. But obviously, in a jME3 game (or any game really), you can have amazing graphics, and so rendering is obviously happening continuously, multiple times a second in real-time. So I’m also wondering what the disconnect is, regarding how “slow” Blender’s renders seem to be, versus how jME3 achieves real-time (or near real-time) rendering.

Well the dimple reason is that blender is using a way higher quality for the entire way lighting is done.
Games just use simple approximations for most stuff, that look good enough. Then blender is also used for movies, like space scenes, with way more moving and animated objects than any realtime engine can handle.

So they have different approaches:
Make the best image possible for each frame vs Make the quickest to render image with a minimum quality that is acceptable.

You will see this with transparent objects sometimes, there is rarely any game engine that can properly handle multiple overlapping transparent objects, as this would require to resolve the order of the different transparent layers multiple times for each pixel.