How should I go about doing texture blending for my game?

Hi!

My game has a kind of top-down view, similar to most RTS like Starcraft 2 or Warcraft 3. My ground consists of different types of tiles, for example grass tiles, sand tiles, etc. Now I want to have smooth transitions where two different types meet. I believe this is called texture blending, but I’m not sure, I’m a noob when it comes to graphics.

Now, what is the easiest way to achieve this? Is there some ready-made code in JME that helps out with this? I was thinking about things like how many quads/tiles should be used for the transition, how many meshes/textures do I require, etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I bet some of you have done this type of thing before. :wink:

Also, another thing: It would be great if I could change the tile type while my game is running, and have this work on-the-fly; for the map editor which will reuse much of the graphics code.

Well there are around 3 main ways to do this. Each with pro an con

-> Back it at construction phase manually, (eg image operations) then use the resulting texture. -> Pro fastest runtime perfomance, con cannot be modified at runtime
-> Create some kind of map that tells what texture where, then let a shader do the rest -> look at the terrain material and how it works for inspiration
-> Hard, make a small border between tiles and a crosspoint as well, then precreate mix textures for everything and apply them correctly. I think wurm online uses this, as it leaves a perfect defined place for stuff like walls, fences and other border objects.

@EmpirePhoenix

I don’t see the difference between approach 1 and 3. And for approach 2: Let shader do what? Please elaborate a little bit on each. Do I need separate meshes? What extra information do I need in the vertices? What kind of shaders should I use? Are those shaders available in JME?