How to begin with jme?

freinds!! im a newbie in game developement… just downloaded Jme… could any one  guide me through the process of how to aquire more knowledge in this feiild… books and relevent material?? and a gud ide… will it be eclipse???

i went through the tutorials f d site and the render codes r difficult 2 understand so before starting dev what else im i suposed 2 know!! :?

Ps: completely new!!!

If you do not know Java yet, then you should probably learn that first. Good book for learning Java if you are a beginner is ‘Head First Java’. Or just Google it and keep reading guides and tutorials.

If you DO know Java then the best place to start are the tutorials in the WiKi.

Just follow the guidelines in this thread for example.

Good luck

If you're new to Java, you may want to make some 2D games first. jME is primarily for 3D games and even though jME does most of the calculations already, you'll still need to some linear algebra at times (e.g., manipulate the camera, move/rotate objects, etc). In addition, you need to be proficient with object oriented programming to know what classes/objects are, when to subclass and/or override something. On the other hand, tutorials can be quite useful and otherwise you can ask on the forums.

well i know the basic core Java for starters…

So i have to get to 2d first!! any book suggestions so that i can gain better in less time??

And i treid to compile some codes in the site… the headers dnt work…

import com.jme.app.SimpleGame;

import com.jme.scene.shape.Box;

import com.jme.math.Vector3f;

is there any problem with my editor or the editors simply dnt support jme??

The imports aren't working so that means you are missing the package… you need to import either the jars or the project files for jME into your project

http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php?do=search&id=setting

dont the jars come with the jme whn i used cvs tool to install it??