How to create labyrinth

first, hello all.

I'm new in Java things, and i have a problem…

I'm trying to make a game, it should be model moving in labyrinth… but how to make labyrinth? i have world, i have moving model (actually, gray box now, but it doesn't matter). do i need to make a labyrinth model? or is there any way to make a txt file with matrix, and then use it,  just add box with texture where 1 in matrix is? how can i do something like that?

thanks in advice

It's easy if you use a matrix.

lab = { {0,0,0,0}, {0,0,0,0}, {0,0,0,0} …}

0 = false

1 = true

Every block has 4 walls plus a floor. Easy structure and with a loop you can create every wall.

More difficult is to find a algorithm which creates you a working labyrinth. There are some outside in the internet.

An easy solution:

Random creation with 2 walls every block --> working Labyrinth, of course not perfect

Another problem. Because each blocks is next to each other, every block need only two walls -->x and -->y direction

lab = { {0,0}, {0,0}, {0,0} …}

Or if you want to use a static labyrinth you can create a 3D model and load it inside jME.

thanks a lot.

i think i'll do static model, because of time… i need to finish project soon (it's school project). i still have some problems with import 3ds files, but i'm running through forum for solve.

PS i was thinking about matrix with whole blocks like

lab={

block, clear, block, clear, block, block, clear;

block, block, block, clear, clear, clear, clear;}

but it's wasting memory, right?

I see 4 0/1's hmmmm… WHAT in the world is LIKE that it seems SO familiar :wink:

(You could use BYTES and do some bit math, then there is ZERO memory waste :D)

Check these also:

http://www.glimt.dk/code/labyrinth.htm

Think Labyrinth: Maze Algorithms

(^ the stuff on hypermazes blows my mind…)

k, i did static lab, it's faster ( /me slacker).

but i can't add it into my project…