How to draw my own graphics within the JME's GLSurfaceView

I have a 3D wave that’s made by rewrited GLSurfaceView.Renderer , and I want it to be the background of my JME program, how should I do? :thinking:
I thought about there’s 2 ways,one is draw my 3D wave in JME program’s GLSurfaceView ,the other is draw JME’s things in my 3D wave‘s GLSurfaceView.(I think the former might be a little simpler :joy:
I’m new to both JME and OpenGL ES,hope big master could come to help me, thanks a lot !!! :heart:

A third option is to adapt the code to use one of JME’s built in constructs… but I don’t know how complicated the wave code is. Even so, it’s probably the easiest route in the long run.

1 Like

Thank you for your reply. :heart:

This is the core class of the wave code:

public static final class WaveRender implements GLSurfaceView.Renderer {}

then i create a GLSurfaceView in MainAcitivity,and use these functions:

setContentView(R.layout.activity_main);
    GLSurfaceView gl_surface=(findViewById(R.id.gl_surface));
    gl_surface.setEGLContextClientVersion(2);
    gl_surface.setEGLConfigChooser(8, 8, 8, 8, 16, 0);
    gl_surface.getHolder().setFormat(PixelFormat.RGBA_8888);
    gl_surface.setRenderer(new WavePoint.WaveRender());//render

And it uses Shader to draw the wave:

public static final class WaveRender implements GLSurfaceView.Renderer {

public void onSurfaceCreated(GL10 gl10, EGLConfig eglConfig) {

int vertexShader = ShaderHelper.compileVertexShader(VERTEX);
        int fragmentShader = ShaderHelper
                .compileFragmentShader(FRAGMENT);

program = ShaderHelper.linkProgram(vertexShader, fragmentShader);
        glUseProgram(program);

}
}

Probably the easiest way, as Paul already said, would be to adapt the shaders into a jme material and then use a quad with the said material as your background inside jme.

1 Like

Thank you for your reply.:heart: