How to realize saving/loading a game?

As mentioned in other threads, I’m relatively new to the field of 3D- and in fact stand-alone game development. So far I’ve been doing browser-based games (although done in Java) so the topic this thread is about never was of relevance to me.

So today I came across a question that sounds simple at first but induces a lot of complexities, especially to someone who hasn’t done it before: What’s the best way of implementing a save and load function?

Every game has to have it so there’s no way around it, but what’s the best format to save in? What parts of the game state should get serialized, which are rebuilt at load? Does JME3 offer helpers for managing this and if so, what’s the best way to design the data structures/game objects to go along with it nicely? Are there recommended resources covering this topic, maybe even JME3 specific ones?

Any idea or other input is highly appreciated!

jME3 has a Savable interface.

your beans can implement it (you have to implement a read an write method). you can then save the output to binary or xml.

That’s how we save and load j3o files, so every object of the scene graph (and many more) implements it, have a look at Spatial for example.

Thanks for the hint.

I still got two (and a half) questions left:

1.) What’s the intended use? Make sure all game objects implement Savable or inherit from Spatial and then use the appropriate Exporter on the root node?

2.)

a.) If I’m not mistaken, the current logic also saves the meshes of geometries. So if I use a lot of custom meshes I’d have to implement an own logic to check whether the saved mesh is still the correct one?

b.) Textures and Models are probably not saved this way but are referenced by their name so that changes to them are reflected automatically after loading, right?

Thank you for your replies.