How would you architect this? [General Help]

Ok, so Ive already had one thread which shed some light on the problem but I’m still a bit stumped on how to architect my game.

So! Oh wise and genius jME3 developers, how would YOU start?

I am trying to create an MMO FPS in space, specifically in the Sol System. I want it to be a seamless open world(don’t worry about landing on planets at the moment). Each client is a person, and can go in and out of airlocks at will.

Think of yourself as a single person actually flying space ships.

How would you start?

I am a skilled developer, just new with this engine and some of its architecture is a bit fuzzy to me. I am well versed in a wide array of data structures, just not necessarily how to leverage them towards a 3d game, so please be as specific as is reasonable.

Now GO all you code monkeys! Fly!

(thanks in advance)

1 Like

The last thing you should start is with a MMO. Aim for the small ones first, and you won’t regret.

1 Like

Yeah, the biggest problem isn’t even the programming part but the massive player part :wink: And even if you get them, the know-how in plain old routing server tech is probably the biggest problem then… Anyway look for “entity systems”, “LOD”, moving the world around the player to avoid accuracy issues and definitely detaching world data and visual display to avoid sheer memory issues.

1 Like

Do yourself a favor and make a “Proof of concept” fist and foremost.

You could, for example, make that PoC as a single player experience or as coop. See how things evolve, how fast you learn the concepts and apply new knowledge.

Making a MMO is like climbing Mont Everest, only the most experienced should attempt it. Doing so without that experience is a recipe for disaster.

1 Like
@shirkit said:
The last thing you should start is with a MMO. Aim for the small ones first, and you won't regret.