I feel as if i'm missing something? - voxel dev

Hello everyone. I am new to 3D development and relatively new to java game development in general. I had some general questions to help me get my current project moving forward.

Aim of my project: A small multiplayer (like 2~4 people) block based action-rpg engine.

Problem:
Being new to 3D development I am hitting some snags on memory management that I’m not quite familiar with.

I started with the basic HelloNode example and expanded on it.
I created a node called level
Level calls on my mapdata method
This mapdata method pulls a large 3D array (100x100x100) from a text file.
It then creates a 3d array of Boxes using generic color materials based on the numbers from the data array 0=nothing (open air) 1=(dirt) 2=(grass) etc…
It attaches the 3d array of boxes to the level node and returns it.
I then added a directional light
I then attached the level to the rootNode.

I clicked was excited so I tapped to run the program to only have it load for 15 minutes with a solid black screen followed by java out of memory error, followed by crashing, followed by defeat.
I feel that I am missing a critical point in 3d development or the methods i’m using to store and build the data are not efficient for this type of work? :-\

I tried a smaller approach which was 25, 5, 25 and tried adding collision as in the hellocollision tutorial and similarly ran into horrible frames per second when loading the map and running into a corner.

I guess long story short I was wondering if anyone else had pointers for improving the loading/rendering of data in a block based environment for someone who is just entering 3d game development or any pointers in general?

-edit- actually finished my question…

@mortalglitch said: Hello everyone. I am new to 3D development and relatively new to java game development in general. I had some general questions to help me get my current project moving forward.