I need to access a control for a geometry

I’m trying to do this, but a nullpointerexception is being thrown after a few clicks for some reason. I’ll show my code, and I’d appreciate it if anyone would tell me if I’m doing this correctly. If not, then please tell me how to correct this.

[java]if(results.getClosestCollision().getGeometry().
getControl(TowerControl.class) != null)[/java]

I guess you get a geometry as result but the control is on a parent spatial.

@normen said: I guess you get a geometry as result but the control is on a parent spatial.

I’m a newbie, and I don’t know what you mean by the parent spatial. Could you give me a quick explanation?

Sure:
https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:scenegraph_for_dummies

@normen said: Sure: https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:scenegraph_for_dummies

Ah, now I know what you’re referring to. In that case, that doesn’t seem to be what’s happening. I attached it directly to the geometry. Do you have any other ideas?
The most I did was

[java]tower.addControl(new TowerControl(this, 100, 0));
[/java]

tower is the actual geometry that had a control applied to it.

@coolman50544 said: I'm trying to do this, but a nullpointerexception is being thrown after a few clicks for some reason. I'll show my code, and I'd appreciate it if anyone would tell me if I'm doing this correctly. If not, then please tell me how to correct this.

[java]if(results.getClosestCollision().getGeometry().

For the record, if this is the line that threw an NPE then either results is null or it has no results. It cannot be otherwise.

Otherwise, you will have to show us the stack trace and the actual line. (I think I will have that tattooed somewhere as often as I say it. ;))

@pspeed said: For the record, if this is the line that threw an NPE then either results is null or it has no results. It cannot be otherwise.