Implementing post rendering 2D filter

Hi everyone,

i'm trying to implement a shader based 2D filtering support for JME3 (ie applying a blur effect on the entire rendered scene).

The requirements are :

• be able to apply a shader based filter to the entire scene
  • be able to stack multiple effects
  • be able to enable/disable filter at runtime
  • make it simple enough so that you don’t need to know what’s going on in the shader

I read a lot of posts about techniques on how to achieve this since i’m pretty new to the 3D development mechanics, and finaly came to some results.

But i have some gliches which i can’t get rid of, and i don’t really know if i’m doing things the way they should.

here is the rendered effect (2 combined filters : radial blur + color overlay (light grey))

I combined what i found in exemples in JME3 source code (FBO passthrough, render to texture, BasicShadowProcessor, Picture …) to make it work.

I’ve got a SceneProcessor that creates one postViewPort by filter. It’s redirecting the main viewport render into a frame buffer which texture is the input of the filter.

The filter stacking is done by rendering each filter in a frame buffer and applying the texture to the next filter.

Only the last filter is rendered to the screen.

A filter is basicaly a full screen quad on which you apply the previously rendered scene as a texture and a material using the filter shader.

That said… i have few questions :

1- Am i doing things right??

As i said i’m a bit new to JME and maybe there is method like renderer.applyCrazyShader(ThatCrazyEffectEveryOneWants.class)… and i’m just reinventing the wheel.

2- I’ve got a strange glitch. when my spider robot thingy is at the center of the scene and filtering is enabled i’ve got a flying quad ruining the effect (see pic below)

The quad is rotating with the camera (it’s not just on the full screen quad) and if i move the spider, at some point, it just move out of the scene and disapear.