Importing textures on models into JME3

Hey,

I’ve created a simple 2D plane in Blender, added a material and also the “cloud” texture. I exported via the Ogre XML dotScene exporter, which generated a scene file, mesh file and material file.

I then convert the .scene to .j3o in JME3. When I open the file in scene viewer, the texture is not there.

I’m still learning the concepts of 3D modelling, and I was wondering if anyone could indulge me with a simple explanation of why this is not working. It may because I don’t quite get “textures”- is it the case that you can only import meshes to JME3 and have to add the textures yourself in-game? Or perhaps there are special options in blender to export textures too?

Thanks

A game compatible model is a uv-mapped model with color, normal and specular maps, nothing more. You cannot expect all functions of a offline-3d-renderer like blender to work in a game engine, “cloud texture” is not a globally defined thing that every 3d editor and engine understands. You have to either bake the things or try what the blender importer does (it also bakes lots of things but is in alpha state). …or best design the model with game compatibility in mind from the beginning. Our documentation has lots of info on all this.

1 Like

Hi, thanks for replying quickly! Okay, that’s interesting, I didn’t know that.

I haven’t heard of baking, is this a method of making permanent the visual effects on a model, for export? Google searches. I’m making a simulator in JME3 that uses a 3D globe with the world printed on. I’ve managed to UV map this and create the model in Blender, but have not been able to export it. I realise now that it’s probably because it’s not a basic model. Would “Baking” the map onto the model help then?

If this is all new to you I really suggest reading our documentation/wiki start to end, it teaches you a lot about game development and all the topics it touches.

1 Like