Incresing control performance trough multithreading, Design Question

Hello fellow monkeys.

I am pretty new to this whole game programming, but i am learning a lot.

I know that the main update() routinge of jMonkey cannot be multithreaded. However since the whole calculations theoretically could be multithreaded i tryed to implement a solution.

The goal of this is to do the heavy calculations in a preUpdate function(inside the Controls), the results are stored in a ArrayList. In the main update() routine all left is to parse trough the jobsForUpdate list and execute the jobs.

The design looks like this:

Executor Application State:

[java]

/*

• To change this template, choose Tools | Templates
  • and open the template in the editor.

*/

package mygame.ApplicationStates;

import com.jme3.app.Application;

import com.jme3.app.SimpleApplication;

import com.jme3.app.state.AbstractAppState;

import com.jme3.app.state.AppStateManager;

import java.util.ArrayList;

import java.util.List;

import java.util.concurrent.Callable;

import java.util.concurrent.ExecutorService;

import java.util.concurrent.Executors;

import java.util.concurrent.Future;

import java.util.logging.Level;

import java.util.logging.Logger;

/**

• @author zzuegg

/

public class Executor extends AbstractAppState {

SimpleApplication core;

private static final Logger logger = Logger.getLogger(CoreSystemEnvironment.class.getName());

ExecutorService executor;

List<Callable<Object>> jobs;

@Override

public void initialize(AppStateManager stateManager, Application app) {

super.initialize(stateManager, app);

this.core = (SimpleApplication) app;

executor = Executors.newFixedThreadPool(2);

jobs=new ArrayList<Callable<Object>>();

}

@Override

public void update(float tpf) {

try {

this.executor.invokeAll(this.jobs);

} catch (InterruptedException ex) {

logger.log(Level.SEVERE, null, ex);

}

}

public void addJob(Callable job){

this.jobs.add(job);

}