Interior loading and rendering approach

I’m researching the possibility to create game with areas like Quake levels (by the size, level of detail, mutability and interactiveness).

• are there components of engine that encapsulate optimizations like BSP (or what is used for it nowadays for such things)?
  • are there convenient editors to create such areas manually or semi-automatically? (more level-design oriented than tools like Blender)
  • are there possibility to write custom loaders to load such area from some custom format?

Quake levels are very small by today’s standards and there is no longer any reason to use BSP or the like for them. Just load them and let them render.

I think Blender is probably more or less fine for making such levels, too… there is a gltf exporter bug that makes it a little harder before 2.83 is released (it’s apparently fixed in 2.83). Others can provide tips on making the editing process easier (snapping, etc.) as I’m still learning myself.

I used to be really down on using blender as a level editor but I’m warming to the idea the more I get comfortable with some of the new features.

If you are used to the old-style Quake level editors that carved empty space out of an infinite solid then I’m not familiar with what’s current in that regard. (Though I do have a lot of experience with Quake levels from 20 years ago: Paul Speed's Java Projects - JQMap)

2 Likes

Thanks for quick reply!
Just load and render? You mean just load whole level as one object?

What if I level have many interactive surfaces, that need to be mouseclicked (raycasted)? Do I need to load them as dedicated objects? So it’s a manual work to split just decorative static (as a big object) and interactive surfaces?

What about mobile devices? I guess some engine-level optimizations may reduce battery usage even with Quake complexity levels.