Is ARToolKit integratable in JME3?

Hi,

My name is Jesse Kirschner, and I’m busy with an art (hopefully soon open source) project.

The program I’ve written is completely JAVA based. I’ve written my own (ultra basic) renderer, collision detector and Math classes. This is, of course, why I chose to use JME3 as the follow up 3D renderer for my objects. That it uses NetBeans is a nice plus, for I started on this platform already.

I am not a trained programmer, my Java is fully self taught, and only stretching so far that I was able to write my own program. It does mean that I was able to read the JME3 library, and I was for instance able to find a way to translate objects I created in my own program into meshes and geometries which I can use in JME3.

The next step would be to project my objects in a real environment. This means that I have to use AR. I found out about ARToolKit and ARMonkey. But the documentation and development only reaches up until March 2010. Because of this all of the examples only contain JME2. Before making an immense number of mistakes, and throwing away “seas” of time because of a complete lack of skill, I figured I’d better ask if ARToolKit/ARMonkey is in anyway compatible or integratable in JME3.

Thanks in advance,

Jesse

Dont know why it shouldnt… I did not look at the API and what kind of data it produces but the general workings of the toolkit don’t have anything to do with the rendering per se, so I dont see why it should not work using jME3. Ofc you’d have to adapt the part of the software where the location is applied to the jME spatials but I guess thats the smallest part of the system :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Normen

Hey, I take it you’ve seen this?

http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/groups/general-2/forum/topic/reloading-a-texture-30-60-times-per-second/?topic_page=1&num=15#post-106287