Is it possible to build a MMORPG with jME?

hi all!

First, sorry abount my bad Engilsh!

I have a general question abount JME.

Put the case, that I (and of course my team) want to develop a complex mmorpg, we have a full design, art, etc.

Is it possible to develop a complex mmorpg game with JME? I know, we need to use many of thirdparty lib for physic, networking and other. know that is a very big work, lots of money…

I have a 10 years experience in Java programming. (business programming daily) But not in game programming.

So, i dont know that, with jme+other java tool, is possible to create this?

Or we need to use some C++ engine? I hope not, because i can't program in C++ , like in Java!

sorry if my question isn't clear. i try to write it more clear if need.

Thanks!

First of all, I moved your question into a new thread, because it had no relation to the thread you posted it in.

Second: Welcome to jME! Unfortunately there is no short answer to your question, because it is not very specific.

Of course you can build a MMO with jME, you could even do so without jME just using AWT/Swing, or a text console.

It all depends on your standards. If you need next-gen graphics and tens or even hundreds of highly detailed characters on screen at the same time, jME isn't for you, and neither is any other java 3d engine I know of.

But if you are willing to compromise, jME can be right what you need. Depending on your team's capabilities of learning 3d graphics concepts and techniques, you might be able to pull off something "better looking" than runescape. But even if you compromise, you will need time, and LOTS of time! You'll be pushing jME to it's limits and beyond, and that means you'll have to do a lot of 3d engine coding yourself.

Hi hevee!

Thank you for moving my question here.