Is jME for me?

Hi all,

I'm a computer science student who wants to develop video games.  I believe my ultimate aspiration is to do technical art, because I love both programming and working with 3d models.

Okay, got my life story out of the way… I've just recently completed my Object Oriented Design course in college, and have been dabbling in Java outside of class.  We mostly covered data structures and the Java Collections Framework, but I have some good books for brushing up on other topics.

Does it sound like I have enough background to get started with jME, or will most of it be over my head?  The idea of a game "engine" is still kind of foreign to me, especially since almost any engine imaginable is in a state of flux.  I don't know what it means to use OpenGL or OpenAL, but I know how to code in Java and I know I like making 3D models and I'd like to put the two together.

So where do I start? :smiley:

I certainly think that's enough to get started with using jME.

I would start here: http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php/new_frontpage

We've had some people very busy creating, updating, and reviewing documentation.  What I linked to above is kind of an ell-encompassing guide to the major aspects of jME.  It will show you how to insert the jME libraries into your project as well as get started with making a simple game.

Just go at the pace you feel comfortable and remember that making a game is a big (and rewarding) task…

I don't know what it means to use OpenGL or OpenAL,

You really don't have to know anything about both to use the engine. Even for very much intermediate stuff you don't have to use openGL. Ok, it is of course good to understand what is going on behind the scene, but you are not forced to use it.

If you're familiar with algorithms, data structures, and general programming, yeah you're there in the basic sense.