Is JMonkey a good engine to use for my project?

Hey, sorry if this is in the wrong forum!

I’m quite new to game development but have been a java programmer for a few years :). Please excuse the newbie questions!

I’m currently trying to decide between Panda 3D as an engine or JMonkey.

I’m looking at creating a 3D game where the user plays in first person, navigating a home and interacting with objects - sounds will be used.

As I am fairly new to game development and this is a school related project I have some basic questions:

• How much of a learning curve do you think there is to create this(and do you think 3 months is a suitable time to create this)? I have minimal game experience but lots of programming experience - currently in my 4th year at University doing CS.

• Is this a suitable project for JMonkey? I’ve seen examples and it looks more than capable - but i’m unsure how hard/complicated it was to create such examples.

• Would JMonkey make a better engine over panda 3d? I know Java well but not python - however with pythons quick coding i guess I could create it in panda 3d far quicker.

• How much harder is it to create a first person over a 3rd person game?

Any answers would be really appreciated :).
@avpeacock said:- How much of a learning curve do you think there is to create this(and do you think 3 months is a suitable time to create this)? I have minimal game experience but lots of programming experience - currently in my 4th year at University doing CS.

Yes, if you allocate the time this is more than doable. Of course, there is no button for "Create Game with Zero Effort" so you must be willing to write some code. The SDK will be invaluable for creating the scene, however.

@avpeacock said:- Is this a suitable project for JMonkey? I've seen examples and it looks more than capable - but i'm unsure how hard/complicated it was to create such examples.