Is jMonkey the right engine for simulating basic physics?

Hi!

I am a control engineer and most of the time I work with simulations. In this case I show plots with line and almost of the time, the customer does not understand what that plot is showing.

My work is to simulate mechanical arms such as robotic arms, springs, inertia, gears etc. So one day I found jMoney and I have some knowledge about Java. So I tried jMoney and it was quite simple to display rotating 3D objects.

Now I asking you. Is jMoney the right model for me to simulate basic 3D approximation of robots with jMonkey? I think I will use Blender to build up the scene like a sloping wall and then a simple 3D motor cycle is driving on that wall.

I’m going to combine jMoney with Apache Common’s math library. Should I stop now, or is jMonkey + Blender the right tools for me to simulate and control physical and mechanical systems?

The engine or core is essentially a 3D scenegraph with support for many modern techniques. The additional modules offer support in aid of the scenegraph, but that is what it is in essence.

There is built in support for bullet physics, and does possess the effects you describe. There are other wrappers for different physics engines such as box2d, and some libgdx love too. I like bullet.

It is certainly possible yes. Is it right? I guess in the end anything only goes so far before you have to write it yourself. I have a feeling this would be one of those in any circumstance.

Well.

My goal is to create a scene and dynamic model in blender, combine them inside jMonkey and do the simulation. The dynamic model can be a car with servo controlled shocks or a self driving car.

Do make the dynamic model works, they need a controller. I not focusing to make games, only simulate mechanical “things”.