Is there a better way to draw 2D pics than using Quads & Texture?

I want to draw some 2D pictures (from files) to build up my basic user interface.

Only Quads can do this?

Is there a better way to draw 2D pics than using Quads & Texture?

Hello,

I'm not an expert, but I'll try to help.

I'm developing a game engine wich uses a great amount of 2d images; some r used as part of the GUI, others are just full-screen displayed. I think the best approach is to use JMEDesktops. Those are objects in which you can embedd any component of the swing library (including JPanels, for instance). Then you put the JMEDesktop into a node. You'll find a lot of examples on the forums, but I leve one for you here:

public class FunctionalSlideScene {

/**
    * The JMonkey node which contains the slides.
    */
   private Node slideNode;

/**
    * This JMEDesktop contains a slidesJPanel
    */
   private JMEDesktop slidesMenu;

/**
    * The SlidesJPanel that contains the slides images
    */
   private SlidesJPanel slidesJPanel;

public FunctionalSlideScene(InputHandler ih) {
      slideNode = new Node("slides");
      slideNode = createSlides(ih);

}

/**
    * MAIN METHOD TO CREATE THE JMEDESKTOP
    * @param ih
    * @return
    */
   private Node createSlides(InputHandler ih) {

// Create the node which will contain the JMEDesktop
      DisplaySystem display = DisplaySystem.getDisplaySystem();
      Node slidesNode = new Node("slides");
      slidesNode.setRenderQueueMode(Renderer.QUEUE_ORTHO);

// Create the JMEDesktop and attach it to the node
      slidesMenu = new JMEDesktop("desktop", display.getWidth(), display
            .getHeight(), ih);

slidesNode.attachChild(slidesMenu);
      slidesMenu.getLocalTranslation().set(512, 380, 0);

// Create the panel which goes inside the jmedesktop (it is just a jpanel)
      slidesJPanel = new SlidesJPanel();
      slidesMenu.getJDesktop().add(slidesJPanel);
      slidesJPanel.setLocation(0, 0);