Java 6 open source on Mac, has anyone tried with jME?

For Intel mac users only at the moment, that is why I can't try this out myself.  :expressionless:

http://landonf.bikemonkey.org/static/soylatte/

Looks promising…  :smiley: missing native Swing implementation or sound does not matter that much in jME.

I would give it a try soon or later.

What I don't like is no support for Aqua. Everything, of course, runs under X11 and I don't know the real state of integration of X11 with OS X.

X11 implementations are known to be not an example of ligthweight GUI server. I hope that X11 running with Aqua would not use too many system resources. Till now I have only tryed it with normal Desktop applications (GIMP, Inkscape, Open Office, …) but I am afraid that a full 3D game could give it some real problems.

Saw it, but a little weary to install it, since my day job is Java on this Mac. Still waiting patiently for Apple to get their act together.

so does anyone know when apple are going to get the finger out and give us java 6???

any word in the ether??

Honestly, I don't think they'll ever finger out… 

If you register as a developer in the ADC, you will discover that there is a beta release of Java 6 available to developers.

Ah, ah, ah! It's a joke! SoyLatte

Building

Due to bugs in 10.4's compiler, building the sources currently requires a Mac OS X 10.5 machine.

We need to be able to compile it under Tiger. Leopard, soon or later will have its Java 6!
Ender said:

I would give it a try soon or later.

What I don't like is no support for Aqua. Everything, of course, runs under X11 and I don't know the real state of integration of X11 with OS X.

X11 implementations are known to be not an example of ligthweight GUI server. I hope that X11 running with Aqua would not use too many system resources. Till now I have only tryed it with normal Desktop applications (GIMP, Inkscape, Open Office, ...) but I am afraid that a full 3D game could give it some real problems.