Jme 3 beta?

Gentlemen,

This has been my first post in a while, and I wanted to congratulate you on the work you’ve done for JME3. I see that you have a renewed vigour, and that development continues. I personally took a JME siesta once I realised that JME3 would be the main focus. I have little 3d gaming experience, and figured support for JME2 would slowly whittle away, and my questions would become somewhat annoying with the shiny new version being the main focus.

So on to my question: Do you have any gauge on when JME3 will reach BETA ? Of course, BETA is an open-ended term, but for me it means all the functionality you wanted is in place, with no known major bugs outstanding. You may beg to differ, but you get the idea.

I did a search for this to see if I could find any comments, but nothing sprang out. Sorry if this has already been addressed.

Great work guys, I’m looking forward to dusting off my old source code and seeing how I can work Space Hoops in to JME3. This time round, I have some interested graphics designers, so the sky’s the limit (or should that be “outer space is the limit” ?).

Cheers

Richard

http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/2010/08/29/jmonkeyengine-3-sdk-alpha-2-released/

I guess we will be releasing two more alphas (3 and 4), so beta will probably be coming Q1 2011. Maybe it will only be one alpha. We still keep the alpha tag on jME3 because we are still checking if major changes need to be applied to the subsystems. In my opinion the most important part about a beta is that the API should not change anymore as soon as we are in beta. Stability-wise jME3 is already quite good, most os-dependent issues are out of the way and the render system works great.

After release, jME3 will add functions and incorporate bugfixes in 3.0.X releases, while 3.X releases might also change or extend the whole API.

Cheers,

Normen

2 Likes