jME and 2D

Hello, this is a first-timer post here :slight_smile:

I've been looking at the apidocs for jme and I must say I'm really impressed. I started studying computer game programming about 10 months ago and I've mainly been focusing on 2D games to start with, and now that I feel like I have pretty much wrapped up that area I'm ready to move on to 3D stuff.

There are many concepts, lingo and stuff, that I'm not familiar with whe, n I'm reading the apidocs. I need something that I can relate to, so I was thinking if I couldn't try to make a 2D game using jME. I know that sounds oddbut I need to get my feets wet, even if it's only in very shallow water.

Any examples, tutorials, source code, for like a simple tile based game being implemented using jME?

Or any other general suggestion on how to best make a tile based game using jME?

Can't run it, get an exception

java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeApplication(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeMainClass(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.continueLaunch(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleApplicationDesc(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.handleLaunchFile(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.lang.IncompatibleClassChangeError
at com.jme.furballz.FurBallzGame.cleanup(Unknown Source)
at com.jme.app.BaseGame.start(Unknown Source)
at com.jme.furballz.FurBallzGame.main(Unknown Source)
... 11 more

DANGER!  Renanse we need assistance!!! :-p

darkfrog

Welcome appel. :-p

Actually there’s a pretty good example of this already:

http://www.renanse.com/furballz/webstart/furballz.jnlp