jME-Physics Website

Okay, now that I'm a developer can I say that the jME-Physics site needs SERIOUS help without offending anyone?  Please let me know if that would offend someone so I don't actually say it. :-p

If someone isn't currently maintaining it I am willing to put a couple hours into it to at least make it useful.  As it stands it's just pretty much a pile of uselessness.  I understand it was kinda thrown together, but jME-Physics is getting pretty powerful and the site doesn't do well to convey that jME-Physics even actually functions. :o  I mean, a WebStart demo would be a good place to start!

darkfrog

jME Physics is very powerful. Perhaps we should join together? I know that originally, we decided to seperate the two to keep focus, but now that it's in the state it is, it might be time to merge physics into the main baseline. Just throwing out ideas here, I know DP's originally wanted it in the core.

vote for core

Hmmm, I agree to an extent.

What do you think about making it part of CVS but have it as a separate module jar so people don't have to add it to their projects if they don't want to and don't have to worry about have ODE DLLs.

Also, when we get around to doing that I think we really need to rework the whole API to make it engine neutral.  This way we can eventually utilize something other than ODE if we want and just provide a default ODE implementation.

darkfrog

Firstly jME physics needs to work with the current release, before worrying about redesigning it:-)

[edit: Thought I better add I'd do it myself but I'm a bit stretched working on some other tech for my prototype(s) (physics is used only in some of them) and uprooting for a move to Tokyo]

That said, it might be worth looking at reworking it around the Open Dynamics Framework ( http://www.physicstools.org/) , like Novedex did for their AGEIA PhysX SDK

http://www.ageia.com/novodex_downloads.html

DP was looking at Novodex integration, not sure how far he got.