JME2 HottBJ/OgreXML Noobie Headaches

This is my first post here, and I’m fully prepared for the bullets sailing my way. I am very new to all of this, but I promise that I have read all of the online documentation, forum-posts, and e-mail lists I can find on this topic. Accordingly, I have developed a deep fear of Blaine Simpson.

I have been attempting to import models with textures into an old driving simulator that was developed in JME2. I had a lot of difficulties with HottBJ. I spent a combined total of about 40 hours working with the code, models, and online help. This culminated in my ability to get a single model imported with a properly rendered texture. However, I have not been able to replicate this success. All subsequent models I have designed in Blender and exported to JME2 with HottBJ have resulted in models that are properly rendered, but that fail to render the textures.

As such, I have been trying to use OgreXML instead.

My current issue is that, when I have added what I believe to be the proper code to import an Ogre XML model into this simulator, the program crashes and throws the following error:

[java]com.jmex.model.ModelFormatException: Input XML file does not have required root element ‘scene’

at com.jmex.model.ogrexml.SceneLoader.load(SceneLoader.java:385)[/java]

When I looked into the SceneLoader class, I found this section of code:

[java]/**

• Adds data from the specified dotScene file onto a scene node (which may
  • then be retrieved with getScene().

• @see #getScene()

*/

public void load(InputStream in) throws IOException, ModelFormatException {

if (scene.getName() == null) {

scene.setName(“OgreScene”);

// Apply default name if nothing more specific applied up to this

// point.

}

try {

DocumentBuilder builder = DocumentBuilderFactory.newInstance().newDocumentBuilder();

Document doc = builder.parse(in);

Element rootEl = doc.getDocumentElement();

if (rootEl == null) {

throw new ModelFormatException(