[jME3+Nifty] Scrolling repeated image

Hello!

I’m still learning how to utilize nifty within jME3 and so far I’ve been making some really simple gui’s. One thing I was experimenting for the better part of the morning was trying to get a repeated image texture on a panel to scroll (in any direction!). I haven’t met much success. I’ve been able to create a panel with a repeated texture no problem but I don’t really have a grasp on how to have an effect scroll it. I have a custom effect on it and I know it’s using it I’m just a bit clueless as to how to get this effect. Should it even be an effect?

Eventually, the desired result was for a diagonally slow-scrolling texture on the furthest back layer to scroll under an overlay of panels that are the actual menus. I was also thinking this could be utilized in backgrounds for other things, or even a left-right slow scrolling scenery.

Any “point me in the right direction” help would be appreciated!

~FlaH

Shifting the texture coordinates might help

uhm, just to make sure that I’ve understood you correctly:

a) you’re using imageMode=“repeat:x,y,w,h” with an imageOverlay effect in onActive like the nifty-panel.xml style in the style-grey?

b) you want to scroll that image (the repeated part) probably with shifting texture coordinates as momoko_fan suggested?

When a) irritates you, then I’d like to know how you’re doing it at the moment :slight_smile:

You could do it with shifting texture coordinates in an effect but you need to consider some things:

1. this effect needs to be executed before the rendering of the panel so that your manipulation of the texture coordinates effects the rendering. You can achieve this with adding a post=“false” to the effect.
  2. you’ll need to directly access OpenGL to shift the coordinates on the texture matrix because the NiftyRenderEngine does currently not allow manipulation of texture coordinates