JMEDesktop and events

After having some problems with drag and drop we experience a problem with focus change by a focus traversal key (Tab) which is just ignored in JMEDesktop.

Forcing a stack trace in a swing applet shows that the events come from EventDispatchThread and this looks like to take several special cases into account when dispatching events. As far as I can see JMEDesktop tries to do the same job and for basic events this works fine.

Problems occur in events that are not handled directly by the current component like focus traversal and drag and drop.

EventDispatchThread works with an EventQueue and maybe it would work to create such an EventQueue and start EventDispatchThread from JMEDesktop?

This is just a theory after looking around, I'm not a swing expert.

I have the following problem with focus…

Imagine you have an JME app with a textfield in window mode and custom mouse cursor.

If you do some input on the textfield, it's ok. But if you then use alt + tab keys to switch application and then switch back to JME app the textfield doesn't get input anymore.

It looks like my theory is wrong. I changed JMEDesktop.dispatchEvent to:

eventQueue.postEvent(event);

where eventQueue is

eventQueue = Toolkit.getDefaultToolkit().getSystemEventQueue();

but it drops most of the events now. EventDispatchThread is packet private so we cannot just use that either.

... stuck again.

Next try: Create a custom DragGestureRecognizer and I'm almost there, but now:

02.05.2006 23:27:03 de.worldofmystery.client.gui.DndPanel dragGestureRecognized
INFO: called dragGestureRecognized
02.05.2006 23:27:03 de.worldofmystery.client.gui.DndPanel dragGestureRecognized
INFO: invalid dnd action
java.awt.dnd.InvalidDnDOperationException: Cannot grab pointer: already grabbed
        at sun.awt.X11.XDragSourceContextPeer.throwGrabFailureException(XDragSourceContextPeer.java:251)
        at sun.awt.X11.XDragSourceContextPeer.startDrag(XDragSourceContextPeer.java:177)