jMonkey and Augmented Reality

Hi all,

For my final year University dissertation I am going to be focusing on Augmented Reality in computer games and was hoping to use jARToolKit (http://sourceforge.net/projects/jartoolkit/) but currently it only supports GL4Java, JOGL and Java3D. Currently I have zero experience with all of these 3 API’s and was wandering how easy it would be to integrate any of them with jMonkey?

Well, JOGL and GL4Java are GL bindings more than graphics or game engines (which would be what jME is)… Java3D is more similar to jME in this respect. I would recommend you to check LWJGL and see if it makes more sense to use it directly instead of jME…

If I was going to use something directly I would have to use either Java3D, JOGL or GL4Java but I would preferably be able to use all the features of jME as well which is why I wanted to integrate JOGL or GL4Java into jME. I noticed in the main description for jME it says that there are plans to support JOGL, has anything else been mentioned about that? I've only just discovered jME so for all I know it may be going into 2.0

If I were you, I'd ping jARToolKit to add lwjgl support.

I’ve (atleast I think) sent a message to the developers of jARToolKit asking them about it and I’ve also found another AR kit - http://nyatla.jp/nyartoolkit/wiki/index.php?FrontPage.en which seems to of been recently updated but I can’t see an email address on the site and the forum is empty so not sure if it’s even updated atall.

Writing a jME renderer for any OpenGL implementation is easy… You just replace all GL11/GL12/etc in the LWJGL renderer with the corresponding OpenGL wrapper class for the implementation.