jMonkeyEngine in a High School Classroom?

Hi, I'm a high school technology teacher who teaches programming among other things. At my high school we have two programming courses. In intro we use a program named Alice to learn about the concepts behind object-oriented programming. In the advanced course the students learn Java (we're using Bluej for an IDE).

Now, I would love to add some 3D Game Development in there but unfortunately most of the 3D game programming material I had found was using either using custom scripting languages or C++. That was until I found out about JMonkeyEngine. Now what I want to know from you guys is:

1. Do you think JMonkeyEngine would be suitable for a high school classroom?
  2. Also is there a centralized location where I could find step by step tutorials or anything along those lines?
  3. We use Mac's and are currently using BlueJ. Will either of these present a problem. I did some searches and I saw some recommendations to use Netbeans or Eclipse. I actually have Netbeans installed on the Macs as well so should I go with Netbeans?
  4. I was thinking of going with Blender for 3D modeling,  what are your opinions of that?
  5. My students will all have experience with Photoshop and GarageBand, would those be suitable for any 2D and audio assets?
  6. What other software or utilities would it be helpful for my students to know?

This is a very interesting idea, though I think it's success depends largely on how well the students are able to understand programming concepts and conventions after relatively little exposure to it.

MrVargas said:

1) Do you think JMonkeyEngine would be suitable for a high school classroom?

That's dependent on how well they understand the concepts behind OOP and how quickly the class is able to pick up Java.

2) Also is there a centralized location where I could find step by step tutorials or anything along those lines?