JOGL Implementation

Hi there,

i’m just a newbie who read Eberly’s Book, and i’m pleased to see that you’ve done a cool Java implementation of its engine, and also that your code is clear to read (no empty or non implemented confusing methods). I really like it, and will be pleased to take part of its development, i’ve not lot of time due to my job and my family, but if you agree, i’ll be pleased to help as i can :D.

Actually, i’m trying to make a JOGL implementation (I will explain later why), but due to my lack of knowledge with both your design, LWJGL (and even with JOGL), i’ve some design difficulties for the implementation.

It may be the begin of a long list of questions ://

It seems that you explicitely ask to the Window to render itself, to clean its backbuffer and so on.

But, i’m a bit confused with Thread issue. Indeed, in which thread are you when you do such asking ?

Using an AWT frame to host JOGL’s Canvas, performance should be better if integrating the “SimpleGame” process in the Render Thread itseld, i.e. in the AWT event queue. Is that right ? or do i have to make both Threads (rendering and AWT) compliant using a message type pattern.

For example, the “takeSnapShot” method should only be handled after rendering is performed, and i guess it shouldn’t be done while rendering or cleaning are performed.

am i clear enough, did i miss something :// ?

Now, let’s explain why JOGL. I’d like to use Cg implementation in a cool Scenegraph environment (it seems i’ve found the last, thanks to jME!! XD) (and then problably integrate it as a jME Render state), and actually it seems that only JOGL handle it :? if not please tell me.

Thanks,

Note : my english is poor, so please be nice with me !

Art.