Just a simple hello to the community

Hello everyone. I know this is not a particularly useful topic and you can delete it if need be. Just wanted to say a warm hello to the community and a thank you to all the people that contributed to this engine. After a lot of time I’ve decide to start my game development adventure with this engine and am just fascinated with what people from this community have created. It’s been a hectic year with me bouncing all over the place technology wise in order to determine how I should start. From the classic Unity vs Unreal debate to dabbling with opengl and vulkan with c++ then porting it to the rust language (as a side note, man did I grow to hate c and c++ in this process. Been a couple of years since I worked with the language and I have no problem working with manual memory management but man, even in this day and age the libraries are full of unreadable macros. I digress). I’ve been a simple enterprise software developer with java for 5 years but never used it in this capacity so I can’t wait to see how java is used with unsafe and direct byte buffer for off heap memory and how the engine is designed.

TLDR: Just wanted to say hello and thank you to the community for the engine and hope that some day I’ll have the necessary knowledge to contribute. Maybe by the time project valhalla and panama are in the jdk and lwjgl is rewritten to suit those changes I’ll get there :))!

Welcome :slight_smile: at start i can say JME is designed to be more profesional friendly than new developer friendly. but you seem to be advanced one :slight_smile:

i mean there are lack of “if user did something wrong, fix it”, but it works little faster thanks to it.

about tutorials please see:

https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/jme3.html#tutorials-for-beginners
https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/jme3.html#documentation-for-intermediate-users
https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/jme3.html#documentation-for-advanced-users