Learn Java.... The cheap way

Hi guys,
I’m learning Pascal right now, it’s my first programming language that I’ve seriously taken in consideration. It’s giving me good programming habits and its “wordy” style allow me to understand programming concepts. The book that I’m studying has been written in 1995 :sweat_smile: LOL.
When my Pascal self-lessons will be over, I will decide to start learning Java. Modern Java → Java 8.
As you know, programming books are too expensive and I can’t buy them (I spent 4 euros for the Pascal book ). So, what if I buy a “Sams teach yourself Java 6” (4 euros - secondhand) and “Java 8 Pocket Guide” (9 euros - Kindle edition)? Or, what about the official Java SE documentation by Oracle?
Thank you very much for your opinions.

1 Like

Hello dude!

I think the best way to learn Java is on Internet! You may buy some books or e-books to have a good understanding of what happens in backgound, but the main source in my opinion is tutorials and articles.

For book, I read Headfirst Java when I was learning Java (back 2008) so I would recommend you to read it.

For tutorials, I like Tutorials Point.

I’m not talking about price, because it depends where you live. Here on Brasil any programming book costs about 200 BRL (~60 EUR) so 8 EUR for a books is unbelievably cheap to me :stuck_out_tongue:

Also don’t mind me, but this forum is for discussing JME3, which requires you to talk about it, so I think you will find better resources on Java forums, like Code Ranch.

1 Like

Before you learn java you must learn programming. It is not a matter of language you use to ‘speak’ with computer, you need to have something clever to say.
So start with books about algorithms, design patterns, data structures etc.

1 Like

Woo! Go Pascal! (It was my first language too back in the day) :smile: