Legal issues with BSP

I noticed that mojomonk wants to put in BSP sorting into JME. I remember form other engines that tare are legal issues with BSP and I want to recommend looking into these issues before adding it to JME.

You are probably thinking of the Quake resources issues. There is nothing about BSP itself that has legal issues, but if we use BSP to create a Quake map loader, we must make sure we don’t have an official Quake map in the tests.

argh, that guest was me.

ok, cant edit that post…there’s a bad url there, the QUARK map editor :

correct one:

http://planetquake.com/quark

today was done, but is temporary.

I suggest that we make the xml support BSP and compile the the BSP into the xml files. We would not need to use a thread party compiler. I do not know enough abut BSP to know if it is possible.

Hello,

I am not a programmer, so I don’t know what can be easier. But to mention one thing: *.map files is the typical format previous to bsp compile. I mean, typical map editors (as I said, I prefer advanced modeller, but a big number of users, level editors that come from modding field, and programers that can’t afford the time wast on learnin a fuly featured 3d package, this via is important.Previously I did discouraged this way, now someone made me realize due to existing editors, is important for many people) do save files in map format (or similar) , and that is hl, or q3 map type…

As there’s just only one -and freaking good and advanced- free for comercial use, I’d recommend even make an importer for the native quark format if it has one… I mean, I dunno if is best possibility; maybe would be interesting.