Level Building Approaches and Advice?

Hey everybody!

I'm a jME newbie and I've been diving through all the tutorials and demo files for the past few weeks.

I'm working on two different student projects in jME, both teams are trying to figure out a good level-building pipeline, and we could really use some advice! So I'm going to generally describe these two projects and pose some questions to the community.

Basic Game Descriptions

Game #1 - A mario-kartesque lap-based racing game
Levels Need:
- easy terrain placement
- defining a trigger zone/volume for the start/finish line
- starting grid placement positions for 2-8 racers
- placement of both static scenery objects (ie a tree), and dynamic scenery objects (ie a rock that rolls across the course)
- ability to place "bounds" or blocking volumes along the track so the racers can't just go everywhere

Game #2 - A 2.5d platformer with standard 2d gameplay and camera, but with 3d objects (no crazy perspective switching)
Levels Need:
- To allow for fine-tuned placement of level geometry and objects so gameplay tuning can be quick
- Definitions of player start and goals
- Ability to load a new level upon completion of previous level

In General:
- neither game needs streamed or dynamically generated geometry - we can create terrain and models, and nothing should be so big that it can't all be loaded into the scenegraph at once.
- these are class projects and we'd like to spend as much time on assets and gameplay as possible, so creating custom level building tools may be out of the question. Also, while I'm very familiar with editors like UnrealEd and the C4 Editor, I'm not experienced with tool creation
- we have access to and experience with Maya 7 and 8
- I have successfully created terrains in L3dT and have them up and running in jME

So...

Questions!