Level editor is not really needed…

Hello everyone. After a (really) long estimation on various engines and languages, I’m stickying with jME. I’m new to both Java and jME, but I already own a couple useful books wich I’m reading.

One of these books is called “the art of game design”, wich made me make the final decision: too much engines rely on polygonal data (aesthetics), sacrificyng logic and procedural (mechanics) to be bound to a fixed space.

When I choosen jME to be my engine of choice, it was for these main reasons:

1. I was looking for an engine wich is not a prebuilt graphics solution in wich the developer (or team) relyes on a level editor, but can rather define what the graphics looks like in the code as well.

This is a good choice, but there are several engines wich already provide that. What refined my search parameter is the reason 2:
  2. I was looking for an engine wich is scriptable, while such scripting allows “describing” a scene without the specific need to have “default” polygons created in an editor and can’t be “customized” in real time. This fantomatic scripting language were to be easy to use and learn, yet powerful like a C++ compiler. (in other words I was looking for a graphics library with some game-oriented features and rendering ability)

Beside this, the engine would have need some real 3D engine features, not being just another graphic library (I would have choosen something like glBasic or simply Java3D otherwise). This leads us on to reason #3:
  3. jME is based on “3D game engine architecture”, wich I already know as I bought the book some years ago. The screenshots for the latest version are very good and I see 2 major features of interest: 1 - portability (jME runs wherever Java does) and 2 - the bullet physics integration (on wich I need more info: is it a port to the Java language for the library or just a binding?)

jME lacks for some relatively minor graphic features, but is not a real problem.