Loading a model into a pre-existing Geometry

I’ve been using jMonkey for a few months now, using it for my latest project, and so far I’ve been using simple cubes and spheres as placeholders for everything while I worked on the game logic. Today, for the first time, I was going to start using some models to start making things look better. I was shocked to see that loading a model creates its own Spatial to use and applies the model to that then returns the created spatial. I had gone quickly through the tutorials back when I started, and I must have seen it used this way in the HelloAsset tutorial, but I did not think about it at the time.

The way I have my project set up, the classes that represent my in-game objects are all derived from Geometry. So when I click on something in my game, I can do whatever I need to do to the clicked object because the geometry I clicked is the object.

If I use assetManager.loadModel() to get a model, it is not going to be applied to the class I have created to handle the object. So now I just lost my input handling encapsulation. Is there any way to tell an AssetManager that you want the Spatial it creates to be of a specific class, or to supply it your own for it to apply the model to?

The only other way I can think of at the moment to handle this would be to keep a huge Map<Spatial, MyClass> around that has a mapping for every single Geometry specifying which object it is associated with. Then instead of handling a click on a collision result’s getGeometry() I would do it on the map.get(getGeometry()) instead. This approach seems stupid though, and I’m assuming there is a better way.

So where is my problem? Is it that I’m missing something in the model-loading methods we have available? Does jME not lend itself to doing input handling this way, and if so how are others handling it instead?