Loading PNG file as a texture

Hi,

I'm fairly new here and a little new to the 3D graphics arena though I have some experience.  I stumbled across the jMonkeyEngine and it seems like a perfect fit for a "pet project" I've been wanting to write.  Things are going pretty good, but for some reason, I'm having a terrible time attempting to apply a texture to a model.  Here is a snippet of code:

//
      // Read the texture from the PNG file as a buffered image.
      //       
      URL imageUrl = ClassLoader.getSystemResource("com/bix/util/m2/TestModels/boat.png");
      java.awt.Image bimg = null;
      try {
         bimg = ImageIO.read (imageUrl);
         if (bimg == null) {
            log.error ("ERROR loading image from URL");
         }
      } catch (IOException e2) {
         // TODO Auto-generated catch block
         e2.printStackTrace();
      }

Texture t2d;
      boolean loadFromUrl = true;
      if (loadFromUrl) {
         t2d = TextureManager.loadTexture (imageUrl, Texture.MinificationFilter.Trilinear, Texture.MagnificationFilter.Bilinear, 0.0f, false);
      } else {
         t2d = TextureManager.loadTexture (bimg, Texture.MinificationFilter.Trilinear, Texture.MagnificationFilter.Bilinear, 0.0f, false);
      }

//
      // Set the texture information.
      //
      TextureState ts = DisplaySystem.getDisplaySystem().getRenderer().createTextureState();
      ts.setTexture(t2d);

The problem occurs when loadFromUrl = false.  For some bizarre reason, the texture is not applied to the model.  I've debugged through the code for TextureManager (v2.0 latest from SVN) and everything seems correct.  In fact, I even did a byte by byte comparison of the data at some of the lowest levels of the TextureManager class and at least the first 5 or 10 bytes are identical.  I'm really stuck here and if anyone has any suggestions, please let me know, I'd really appreciate it.

Regards.