Looking for some advice

I’m looking for opinions on what to learn first. I came across this engine today while I was searching out resources and it’s definitely caught my interest. I want to get started on this, I’m not afraid of a challenge or investing thousands of hours, however I would like those hours to be productive so I’m seeking some advice from the people who have gone before me. Basically I’m a super-noob at this so I’m wondering if I should be learning java first and then returning etc. A little about myself…

I have no java or game development experience at all… The closest thing to game development experience I have is maybe 2 years of playing around with 3dsmax 8 maybe 5-6 years ago. Simple model designs simple textures and simple animations and some particle effects etc.

I currently work in IT and I have a general understand of how a programming language functions. I really not expecting to have a lot of trouble grasping new concepts and I do enjoy that kind of a challenge.

I typically hop right into the middle of a new project and would likely just follow the tutorials here and make some basics shapes “do stuff” and see where it leads.

Does anyone feel my time learning the basics would be better focused somewhere else? Is it typically too much for someone to just start up here with your engine?

Hello!

mmmm. This question is pretty tricky, but I’ll try my best. I think I’ll chop this up a little as I go…